u:space at a glance

u:space is the portal of the University of Vienna and offers central access to a wide range of services for students, teachers and staff of the University of Vienna as well as for external library users and the Schul- and Masterpraxis Lehramt.

You need a u:account in order to use services in u:space

Users have direct access to their services in u:space or are redirected to the appropriate service of the University of Vienna. You need a u:account in order to use the services in u:space. You do not have a u:account yet?

u:account registration

 

Services in u:space

Registrierung für Studieninteressierte Students and prospective Students

  • Apply for admission to a degree programme
  • Tuition fee/Students’ Union fee
  • Register for courses and exams
  • Download records and study documents

 Registrierung für Schulpraxis Lehramt MentorInnen Schul- and Masterpraxis Lehramt

  • Register as mentor
  • Create a profile
  • Update personal data
  • Manage registrations

Registrierung für Lehrende und MitarbeiterInnen Teaching staff and employees

  • Enter course descriptions in u:find
  • Manage registrations and entry of grades
  • Update personal data in u:find
  • Order the u:card (employees)

Registrierung externe Bibliotheksnutzung  External library users

  • Create a library account
  • Update personal data
  • Order and disable the library card (u:card)

Development of u:space

u:space is continuously being developed and improved. The continual involvement of users in the development of the portal is a major factor. Students – similarly to teachers and staff – are constantly involved and contribute to the planning and development of new services.

In addition, Matomo is used to improve existing applications. Matomo is an analytical tool that serves to evaluate the use of the u:space functions and thus the user behaviour. We ensure the protection of your data by making them anonymous.

We are committed zu provide all people access to all services in u:space. We are trying to gradually remove the barriers that currently exist. You can find more information on this in our accessibility statement. You can also follow the ongoing accessibility improvements.

 

Are you interested in usability tests?

You are studying at the University of Vienna and would like to actively shape u:space? We regularly organise usability tests to test new applications and features in u:space with our users. Your feedback is important to us!
Register for upcoming usability tests

 

Who is behind u:space?

The service unit Teaching Affairs and Student Services and the Vienna University Computer Center jointly develop and improve u:space in close cooperation with various service units and departments of the University of Vienna. We work agile: This means that the scope of the project is broken down into small work packages, which are implemented in short cycles. Results are therefore available in short periods of time. In addition, user feedback can be integrated in the further developement of u:space at any time. 

We are permanently looking for committed software engineers and team members to help us realise our vision of u:space.
Current job offers

u:space auf einen Blick

u:space ist das Portal der Universität Wien und bietet den zentralen Zugang zu Services sowohl für Studierende, Lehrende und Mitarbeiter*innen der Universität Wien als auch für externe Bibliotheksbenutzer*innen und die Schul- und Masterpraxis Lehramt.

Für die Nutzung der Services ist ein u:account erforderlich

User haben in u:space direkten Zugriff auf ihre Services oder werden zu den entsprechenden Sites der Universität Wien weitergeleitet. Für die Nutzung der Services ist ein u:account unbedingt erforderlich. Sie haben noch keinen u:account?  

u:account Registrierung

 

Services in u:space

Registrierung für Studieninteressierte Studierende und Studieninteressierte

  • Zulassung zum Studium beantragen
  • Studien-/ÖH-Beitrag einzahlen
  • Zu Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen anmelden
  • Zeugnisse und Dokumente herunterladen

 Registrierung für Schulpraxis Lehramt Mentor*innen Schul- und Masterpraxis Lehramt

  • Registrierung als Mentor*in
  • Profil anlegen
  • Eigene Daten aktualisieren
  • Anmeldung verwalten

Registrierung für Lehrende und MitarbeiterInnen Lehrende und Mitarbeiter*innen

  • LV-Beschreibungen für u:find anlegen
  • Anmeldungen und Noteneingabe verwalten
  • Eigene Einträge in u:find bearbeiten
  • u:card bestellen

Registrierung externe Bibliotheksnutzung  Externe Bibliotheksbenutzer*innen

  • Registrierung als Bibliotheksbenutzer*in
  • Eigene Daten aktualisieren
  • Bibliotheksausweis (u:card) bestellen und sperren

Weiterentwicklung von u:space

u:space wird ständig weiterentwickelt und verbessert. Die kontinuierliche Einbeziehung der User bei der Entwicklung des Portals ist ein wichtiger Aspekt. Studierende – ebenso wie Lehrende und Mitarbeiter*innen – werden laufend eingebunden und wirken bei der Planung und Entwicklung neuer Services mit.

Für die Verbesserung bestehender Anwendungen wird zusätzlich Matomo eingesetzt. Matomo ist ein Analysetool, mit dem die Nutzung der u:space-Funktionen und damit das User-Verhalten ausgewertet werden können. Der Schutz Ihrer Daten ist durch deren Anonymisierung gewährleistet.

Ein besonderes Anliegen ist es uns, allen Menschen den Zugang zu sämtlichen Services von u:space zu ermöglichen. Wir arbeiten deshalb unermüdlich daran, derzeit bestehende Barrieren schrittweise zu beheben. Nähere Informationen dazu finden Sie in unserer Barrierefreiheitserklärung. Die laufenden Verbesserungen der Barrierefreiheit können Sie ebenso verfolgen.

 

Interesse an Usability Tests?

Sie studieren an der Universität Wien und möchten u:space aktiv mitgestalten? Wir organisieren laufend Usability Tests, um mit unseren Usern neue Anwendungen und Features in u:space zu testen. Ihr Feedback ist uns wichtig! 
Für kommende Usability Tests anmelden

 

Wer steht hinter u:space?

Die Dienstleistungseinrichtung Studienservice und Lehrwesen und der Zentrale Informatikdienst entwickeln und verbessern u:space gemeinsam in enger Zusammenarbeit mit unterschiedlichen Einrichtungen der Universität Wien. Wir arbeiten agil: Große Projekte werden in kleine Arbeitspakete geschnürt und in kurzen Zyklen umgesetzt. Dadurch liegen bereits nach kurzer Zeit Ergebnisse vor und auch User Feedback kann so optimal in die Weiterentwicklung von u:space einfließen.  

Wir suchen laufend engagierte Sofwareentwickler*innen und Teammitglieder, die uns dabei helfen, unsere Vision von u:space umzusetzen.  
Jobs bei u:space